The West Indian Students Centre (WISC) was opened by Princess Margaret in June 1955. The WISC was a base for West Indian students studying in Britain, and headquarters of the West Indian Students Union. Lloyd Brathwaite’s Colonial West Indian Students in Britain (1955, republished 2001), gives a fascinating introduction to its early life. In the mid-1960s, the WISC became a centre of radical activity, as two Jamaicans, Locksley Comrie and Richard Small, pushed to transform the centre’s agenda in recognition of the new politics of Black Power. The centre hosted regular talks on Black Power, and by local and visiting activists, as well as regularly hosting events by the Caribbean Artists Movement. Following Comrie and Small’s departure, a new WISU executive was established, led by Gary Burton (Antigua), Earl Greenwood (Jamaica), June C. Doiley (Jamaica), Jack Hines (Jamaica) and Ansel Wong (Trinidad).The new executive began a regular Black Arts Workshop, run by Ansel Wong, and established the C. L. R. James Supplementary School, also fronted by Wong, with Jack Hines.The radicalisation of the centre, however, also led to conflicts between the students and the high commissions who funded the building. Efforts to open the centre out to non-students, in an attempt to connect with London’s black working-class, were repeatedly thwarted.In 1976, West Indian governments announced their decision to close the centre, but were met with a campaign to keep it open, and an occupation of the building by the West Indian Standing Conference, who demanded that it be transformed into ‘The West Indian Centre’. The occupation won in December 1976, and the centre re-opened under that name. It continued to operate as the West Indian Centre until late 1978, when its funding was once again cut.